Map Wall Art

So I went to Goodwill again. Love that place.

I found this encyclopedia from 1959 for 50 cents, and it had this really pretty old school map in the front and back covers. Apparently it was once a library book, which I know because it has “WITHDRAWN” stamped over the Soviet Union on the front cover. I think that’s hilarious, but that’s just me.

IMG_4274

A lovely map like that needs some seriously good fabric/paper to back it, and some nice frames. I ended up buying three black picture frames (and glass) for $2.99 each, (total cost on this project < $1o) which is exactly why I love Goodwill so much.

 

IMG_4271

 

Here they are all framed up. Each page needed a little trimming, but together they make a map of the world.

IMG_4275

IMG_4276

I thought this illustration of a flower was lovely, so I cut out the encyclopedia entry and framed that too, just to complete the set.

IMG_4278

Now my wall looks like this! I feel like I have real art.

Project cost: $8.50

4 responses to “Map Wall Art

  1. Pingback: A Year End Review | WhipStitchDesigns

  2. Pingback: I love the Minneapolis Skyline | WhipStitchDesigns

  3. Pingback: How-To, Hollow Book Hiding Place | WhipStitchDesigns

  4. Great idea – I love maps!

Leave a comment