Lily Earrings Triumph

IMG_4622

There’s a 10 year long story behind these earrings, and it starts, as so many of my bead stories do, with Diane Fitzgerald. When I was 12 I saw her at the Upper Midwest Bead Society show, and she had her ginko leaf necklace with her. Every time I’ve met her, she’s been so nice and so sweet but this first meeting was special because she sold me not only my first set of Delicas but also her Beading with Brick Stitch book.

I’ve never been one to follow a pattern, but I used the book to learn the basics of brick stitch, and eventually had made this bouquet of beaded flowers (and hey look, the edging on the peach colored carnation and on the purple carnation were both from that original packet of Delicas she sold me)

IMG_3947a

This was a big project for me, and I had planned to add other kinds of flowers, but I stalled on the lily. I had wanted to add some really large, lovely white calla-lillies but couldn’t work out the shaping in either peyote or brick stitch, so I set aside the project and moved on to other things.

Then, this summer, I saw this pin, a pattern by Linda Richmond.

I’d been working on this shape for about 8 years at this point, off and on. It was always in the back of my mind, so I bought the pattern. And promptly failed at figuring it out.

Then I moved around a bunch and didn’t have time to tackle it. Finally, over my Christmas time off, I managed to figure it out… sort of.

IMG_4622

They’re a lot smaller, and not really the same shape, and instead of doing the center stamens and the rest of the pattern I did something similar to these earrings and just used chain. (I told you I rarely follow the pattern). I’m a little bit in love with these ones though, they’re very elegant.

Next time I’ll mess with the counts and the increases a little more to get the larger flowers shaped correctly. The saga of the lily shape continues….

Leave a Reply

