Apple Pie

It seems like the desserts never end! First cake, then zabaglione, and now apple pie! Regardless, I’m super happy with how this one turned out.

IMG_5785

I started with a cardboard base.

IMG_5768

I was struggling with how to make the crust look appropriately “rolled” and “pinched” the way that pie crust does, when it hit me that I could cut slats and bend them. So I did!

IMG_5773

The top of it looked far too plain so I added some faux lattice work by making cuts and strategically scoring the top in several places.

IMG_5776

Then I created a filling with cling wrap and paper.

 

IMG_5783

 

Finally, I added the paint and the ice cream to give it a little bit of “realism.”

IMG_5785

It actually looks really really good, especially compared to the reference photo I used.

images (4)

3 responses to “Apple Pie

  1. Pingback: Surprise Corned Beef | WhipStitchDesigns

  2. Wow. This one is A-mazing. How did you make the ice cream on top?

Leave a Reply

