Sweater Pillows

UPDATE: I chose this project to re-visit as part of my 2015 re-visited series. The original project is pictured below, followed by a much better quality version which I completed in October 2015. 

While I made these truly adorable pillows a few years ago, I didn’t exactly have a sewing machine. Or a color scheme. Or any plan at all.

IMG_5306

Three years later I’ve moved into my own place and I finally have all three of those things available, so I decided now was finally the time to re-visit this idea and talk about it a little more in depth.

IMG_4405

The first thing I grabbed was these sweaters from goodwill ($5 total, you guys.) I also had pillow forms already, so my total cost for project was $5 ($1.66/pillow if you will)

2015-10-16 18.10.22

Honestly, this project is so simple if you have a sewing machine, you guys. All you have to do is remove the seams so that you end up with a vaguely square shape.

2015-10-16 18.42.28

Knits stretch, so it doesn’t matter if your fabric is a little narrower than your pillow form as long as they will stretch to fit.

2015-10-16 18.39.02

Mine certainly did. I had 0 problems fitting the pillow forms into my pillow cases once I’d sewn the two sides together (leaving a hole for stuffing, which I totally didn’t forget to do at all on the first pillow nope no way)

IMG_4407

They’re so fun! They match my decor perfectly, and they’re actually really comfy. I feel very cozy in my bed now.

IMG_4406

As you can see, I’ve got some variety. I switched it up by making the two large pillows each have the same back and front, so I have two pillows with turquoise in them instead of just one. I sleep on the little one so I made sure there was a “real pillowcase” side to him for comfort.

IMG_4409

In order to vary it up a bit  (and not totally because I sewed it wrong the first time) I used the “wrong side” of the teal sweater for one of the pillows, and the “right side” for the other so they match but they don’t match.

IMG_4408

The little guy is also special because of the pattern of the knit. I’m a lot in love with these new pillows and they go really well in my new room.

One response to “Sweater Pillows

  1. Pingback: October Revamp: Sweater Pillows | WhipStitchDesigns

Leave a Reply

