Pretties for my Brother

Last week my bike got a flat. My brother, who was headed out of town that day was really really nice and came out to work to save me, because I was working all day and didn’t have a chance to fix it. I ended up taking the bus home anyway, but he did his best.

While he was there, he poked about the store a bit, and ended up really liking some bone pendants. He’s into the whole mountain man canoeing, hiking, and eating berries for a living thing, and he wanted some of those hemp necklaces you see on guys all the time. So I bought them and made these.

It’s one of my first real attempts at macrame. So I decided to take some in-process pictures.

These are mostly centered around one of my favorite in-a-pinch solutions, partly because I’m borrowing my brother’s girlfriend’s old camera and can’t really get quality pictures off of it, but also because I really like this method.

Back when I was at my old job, at the other bead store, I came by a whole lot of left over 26ga. hot pink craft wire which had been discarded by the kid’s bead camp. I use it in situations like this, were I need a large eye needle and don’t want to use the more expensive Beadsmith ones which are *incredibly* useful for just about everything else, because I hate hot pink as a color in general, so it’s expendable.

So I use the wire to tug the ends back into  the knot work and voila! A pretty secure I hope necklace for my brother. I made him two, and tied them on him, and he liked them. Kept calling them really pretty (A macho man, he is not), hence the name of this post.

 

 

 

 

 

One response to “Pretties for my Brother

  1. Pingback: Out With the Old | WhipStitchDesigns

Leave a Reply

